The Making of a Collection

The making of a collection is a big deal. Being on the factory floor and seeing a garment crafted before your eyes is an eye-opening experience, and one I wish more people would pay attention to. In a world where so much can be automated and done by a machine, the sewing of a garment – particularly one with as much detail as Burberry – is a sight to behold.

This video on the making for Burberry’s Spring/Summer 2012 women’s line reminded me so much of the first time I walked on one of our factory floors and saw a School House cardigan sewn in front of my eyes. From initial sketch to completion, I hope we never forget that clothes are made and manufactured by people and by hand. Sometimes that kind of craftsmanship can lead to a bit of sticker shock (I myself don’t even own a piece of Burberry), but anything made with craft, care and artistry always will be more expensive than their assembly line, fast fashion counterparts. To me, the investment in items I know will last are worth it in moderation and I think this video displays exactly why that’s true.


Happy Monday & Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

